Saturday, January 29, 2011



On February 20,1947,the British Prime Minister  Clement Atlee declared that the  British rule in India would be end by June 30,1948.
Making Constitution and enacting of ordinary laws,  Constituent Assembly also Performed  function are:
1. India’s member ship in Common Wealth in may 1949.
2. It adopted the national anthem on January 24,1950.
3. It adopted the national Song on January 24,1950.
4. It elected  Dr. Rajendra Prasad as the first President of India on January 24,1950.
In, all the Constituent Assembly had 11 sessions over two years, 11 months, and 18 days. The Constitution –makers had gone through the Constitution   of about 60 Countries, and the Draft Constitution was considered for 114 days. The  total expenditure incurred on making the Constitution amounted to Rs 64 lakh.
On January 24,1950, the  Constituent Assembly held its final session ,it not end and continued up to  January 26,1950 till  the formation of new Parliament after the first general elections in 1951-1952.
In our Constituent Assembly appointed a number of Commitees to deal with different tasks of Constituent –marking they are:

Major Committees:

1. Union Powers Committee-Jawaharalal Nehru
2. Union Constitution  Committee-  Jawaharalal Nehru
3. Provincal Constitution Committee-Sardar Patel
4.Drafting Committee-Dr.B.R.Ambedkar
5.Advisory Committee on Fundamental Righs and Minorities –Sardar Patel.
This Committee had two sub-Committee:
6.Rules of Procedure Committee-Dr.Rajendar Prasad
7.States Committee(Committee  for Negotiating with States)- Jawaharalal Nehru
8.Steering Committee-Dr.Rajendar Prasad

Minor Committees:

            1.Committee on the Function of the Constituent Assembly –G.V. Mavalankar
2.Order of Business Committee-Dr. K. M. Munshi
3.House  Committee-B. Pattabhi  Sitaramayya
4.Ad-hoc Committee on the National Flag –Dr. Rajendar Prasad
5.Special Committee  to Examine the Draft  Constitution-Alladi  Krishnaswamy Ayyar6.Credentials Committee- Alladi  Krishnaswamy Ayyar
7.Finance and Staff Committee-A.N. Sinha
8.Hindi Translation Committee
9.Urdu Translation Committe
10.Press Gallery  Committee
11.Committee to Examine  the Effect of  Indian Independence Act of 1947
12.Committee on chief  Commissioners Provinces
13.Commission on Linguistic Provinces
14.Expert Committee on Finanical Provinces
15.Ad-hoc Committee on the Supreme court.


Drafting  Committee:

Drafting Committee (important Committee) set up on  August 29,1947.It consist of seven members they are:
1. Dr. B . R . Ambedkar (Chairman)
2. N Gopalswamy  Ayyangar
3.  Alladi   Krishnaswamy Ayyar
4. Dr .K. M. Munshi
5.  Syed Mohammad Saadullah
6. N Madhava Rau (He Replaced by B L Mitter  who resign due to ill-health)
7. T T Krishnamarchari (He Replaced by D P Khaitan who died in 1948).

The Constitution adopted on  November 26,1949, contained a Preamble ,395 Article{divided 22parts} and 8 Schedule(Present  450 Article{divided 24parts} and 12 Schedule).
Dr .B.R. Ambedakar  ,the Law Minister , piloted the Draft Constitution in the Assembly .He took   a very  Prominent part in the deliberations  of the Assembly .He was known for his logical , forceful and  persuasive arugments   on the floor of  the Assembly. He is Recognised as the ‘Father of  the Constitution  of India’. He is  a brilliant writer ,Constitution  expert, undisputed leader of the Schedule Caste and ‘chief architect of the Constitution of India’ also known as  ‘Modern Manu’.

Sailent Feature of Constitution:

1. Lengthiest Written Constitution
         2. Drawn From various Source
                                                         3. Blend of Rigidity and Flexibility
 4. Federal System with Unitary Bias
5. Parliament Form of Government
                                               6. Systhesis  of Parliamentary Sovereignty and Judicial Supremacy
          7. Integrated and Independence Judiciary
                                                         8. Fundamental  Rights
                                                         9. Directive Principle of State Policy
                                                       10. Fundamental  Duties
                                                       11. A secular State
                                                       12. Universal Adult Franchise
                                                       13. Single Citizenship
                                                      14. Independent Bodies
                                                      15. Emergency provisions
                                                                         16. Three-Tier Government